Kosan Rogo

Lately, I have been remembering childhood treats I loved. So many I have forgotten but there are a few that I still remember fondly and eat occasionally. Others, like Kosan Rogo, I haven’t had since I left University eons ago. Yes. It’s been that long. 16 years to be precise. We ancient….and grateful for the chance to be. Kosan Rogo translates from Hausa directly as Cassava Cakes. Delicious, starchy, golden, deep fried morsels. The lead up to it is a bit of a thing but once through that, it’s a breeze. For this one, I’m not doing quantities. There’s really no need. You will need: Cassava Peel your cassava and soak over night. My local source said it’s compulsory, to remove the ‘bad things’. Don’t ask me what that is please. I believe it’s to do with reducing the starch content. Next day, rinse well and cut into small cubes. Blending comes next. Blend with water until you get a coarse texture to your cassava, with visible strands in it. This is important because you need that texture when you fry it, or it might just taste like fried eba. I sent mine off to the market for grinding because I’m still babying my new Kenwood Chef 😀 Strain cassava through a cloth. This requires quite a bit of elbow grease as you need the mixture to be water free. You should be left with a damp clump of cassava. Save the water you drained. Let it settle and reserve the starch you get at the bottom. You can use it to make ‘Bambara’, another northern delicacy. Back to our Rogo. Finely chop some onions and as much atarodo as you can stomach. Add to your cassava. Season with salt and knorr. Mix everything in thoroughly, preferably by hand. Shape into small discs, at least half an inch thick. Do not make them too thin or over work it will shaping. You will end up with an overly crispy cake. Deep fry until golden. Serve. Eat. Repeat. I keep meaning to try this with an onion and tomato relish but I somehow never have the patience. Will try one of these days. Hopefully. image

3 thoughts on “Kosan Rogo

  1. Yay. Going to try tonight.

    The soaking is essential to remove the toxins – cyanide especially that are present in raw cassava.

    Thank you dear

    Like

Leave a comment